Conference Co-chairs

Héctor Michelena, MD, FACC Miguel Urina Triana, MD, PhD, FACC

Professor of Medicine, College of Medicine
Director, Intra-operative Echocardiography Department of Cardiovascular Medicine Mayo Clinic Rochester, MN, USA

Professor of Medicine and Chief of Cardiology
Simón Bolívar University of Barranquilla
ACC Colombia Chapter Governor
Barranquilla, Colombia

Planning Committee

Juan Aranda, Jr., MD, FACC

Interim Chief, Division of Cardiovascular Medicine
Interim Vice Chair of Clinical Affairs, Department of Medicine
Professor of Medicine
Director of Heart Failure/Cardiac Transplantation
University of Florida
Gainesville, FL, USA
Javier Castillo, MD

Assistant Professor of Cardiovascular Surgery
Director, Hispanic Heart Center
The Mount Sinai Hospital
New York, NY, USA
Jorge A. Gonzalez, MD, FACC, FSCMR

Director, Advanced Cardiovascular Imaging (CT/MRI)
Co-Director, Hypertrophic Cardiomyopathy Clinic
Director, Aorta Imaging Clinic
Scripps Clinic Division of Cardiovascular Diseases
Scripps Clinic Division of Diagnostic Radiology
La Jolla, CA, USA
Roxana Mehran, MD, FACC

Professor of Medicine (Cardiology) and Population Health Science and Policy
Director of Interventional Cardiovascular Research and Clinical Trials
Icahn School of Medicine at Mount Sinai
New York, NY, USA
Pamela B. Morris, MD, FACC

Associate Professor of Medicine, Cardiology
Director, Seinsheimer Cardiovascular Health Program
Co-Director, Women's Heart Care
Medical University of South Carolina
Charleston, SC, USA
Alejandro Olaya, MD

Cardiac Electrophysiologist
Head of Cardiology Department
San José Hospital
Chief of Cardiac Electrophysiology, Children’s Hospital of Cundinamarca
President of Colombian Chapter of Electrophysiology
Chief of Program of Cardiology, FUCS
Bogotá, Colombia
Adalberto Elias Quintero, MD, FACC

Professor of Medicine and Cardiology
Simón Bolivar University of Barranquilla
SCC President (Sociedad Colombiana de Cardiologia y Cirugía Cardiovascular)
Barranquilla, Colombia
Manuel Urina-Triana, MD, MSc, FACC

Former President, Colombian Heart Foundation (2008-2010)
Former President, Colombian Society of Cardiology and Cardiovascular Surgery (2010-2012)
Fundación BIOS
Barranquilla, Colombia


Robert Bonow., MD, FACC

Goldberg Distinguished Professor of Cardiology
Vice Chairman, Department of Medicine
Northwestern University Feinberg School of Medicine
Chicago, IL, USA
Juan P. Brito, MD, MSc

Associate Professor of Medicine
Senior Associate Consultant, Division of Endocrinology
Medical Director of the Shared Decision-Making National Resource Center, Mayo Clinic
Director of Late-stage Translational Research of the Mayo Clinic Center for Clinical and Translational Science (CCaTS)
Investigator, Knowledge and Evaluation Research Unit
Mayo Clinic
Rochester, MN, USA
Bernard J. Gersh, MB, ChB, DPhil, MACC

Professor of Medicine, Department of Cardiovascular Medicine
Mayo Clinic
Rochester, MN, USA
Viviana Navas, MD

Medical Director of Heart Failure, Cardiac Transplantation, and Mechanical Circulatory Support
Director of Cardiovascular Fellowship Program
Robert and Suzanne Tomsich Department of Cardiology & Cardiothoracic Surgery
Cleveland Clinic, Florida
Weston, FL, USA
B. Hadley Wilson, MD, FACC

The Sanger Heart & Vascular Institute
Carolinas HealthCare System/Atrium Health
Clinical Professor of Medicine
UNC School of Medicine
Chair, Membership Committee
Board of Trustees
American College of Cardiology
Charlotte, NC, USA
Richard Kovacs, MD, FACC

President, American College of Cardiology
Q.E. And Sally Russell Professor of Cardiology
Clinical Director Krannert Institute of Cardiology
Indiana University School of Medicine
Indianapolis, IN, USA
C. Michael Valentine, MD, MACC

Immediate-Past President, American College of Cardiology
Stroobants Cardiovascular Center
Centra Medical Group
Lynchburg, VA, USA